hello moon.
mornings and waking: 10 November 2003, 9:52 am.
Shana is making pickled cabbage special for me. It's somewhere between just regular pickled and fermented. Her recipe involves chablis and juniper berries.

Friday: went to see Belle & Sebastian at the State theater in Detroit. I greatly enjoyed myself, though I found the crowd a bit dissapointing in the people watching department. They were pretty varied, so that was cool, and lots of attractive people, but still, I was hoping for a sea of cute indie-rock hipsters. And I was dissapointed that the floor was NOT one big dance party. The State theater is a really cool venue. I'd never been before. It's very ritzy, and it was a lot like going to a swank bar with a $30 cover. Everything is gilt and you feel like there ought to be private boxes with heavy velvet curtains etc. Rasputina was really good too. And then B&S covered Jackson 5, being in detroit and all, and it was not only a good cover, but it was really hot. In fact I managed to maintain my impression that everyone on that stage was grossly attractive, due to the modest distance I maintained from the stage. Why do I find awkwardness (self-conscious or un) so attractive? Shouldn't that be counter to nature or something? And the lights guy, who was just a little in front of us, was a whole side show in his own right.

Then, after the show me and esther and laura went to the Del Rio for a quick bite o'pizza and ran into one of our other house members there, who was there hanging out with the found magazine guy, and She informed us that big news was going down in Minnies: Our president left. He just packed his stuff, gave the keys to her and was like "I can't live here, its too stressful." and left. This is big news. Shocking, positively. Looks like there's going to be a pretty high turnover rate in winter anyway. A lot of people are doing study abroad and there are a few people who might be leaving because they want to. But Val! Val is probably coming back. Val!

Saturday: Got up early and got to detroit's Eastern Market, after a sidetrip to have breakfast at Toast, a small breakfast joint in Ferndale that is exactly the same thing as Angelo's. I got to the antique store, and my hat was still there, so I bought it. HAT! Hat rhymes with cat. It's a damn sexie hat. "Modern day Hepburn" etc. Me and that hat are going places. 20 paces out of the store I got an offer on it from a woman standing on the sidewalk, and then after the cheese store a man gave me an awesome wooden toy truck as prize for Best Hat at Market, because my hat (and presumably me in my hat) made his day.

The wine party was great fun. The house, and people actually looked classy. There was debauchery in the highest degree. There was an awful lot of make. People getting down on the dance floor, the sofas, etc. It was TJ next morning who postulated that everyone either got sick, or got ass. I think we all did our part to generate as much gossip as possible. Cause that's what the house needs more of: intrigues and deals.... I need to stop being so eager to spread gossip about all the make, as its very definately going to turn around to bite me in the ass, though. There is so much broken glass in the house now, though. Every 5 minutes it was Mozltov!

Only slept for a few hours, then was up and about again by something like 9:30, 10am. Worked on the crossword with Val (Val!) Made casserole for dinner in the morning so that I could go see Matrix with Val and Shana. It was fun to putter around the kitchen in saddleshoe pumps and a pinafore feeling very 50s mom.

Had a good conversation with Sat about other people's emotional issues when I should have been sleeping. Today's going to be a difficult day, as its my longest of the week, and I'm running on a few hours of drunk sofa sleep, followed by a long day of wine headache and another few hours of bed sleep. But that's okay. Those satisfying conversations are worth it, and I'm often really hard on Sat, so it's really rewarding to get one of those "on" conversations, where I feel like we're actually talking to each other, and not past each other.

It's good to have internet back at the house, but at the same time it was somehow very convenient to have it out as well.

dairyland:: <::> :archivy ::GB:etc
fortune cooky - 21 September 2005
dinner discourse - 20 August 2005
Me and Teddy G. - 09 August 2005
miao? - 09 August 2005
a march of pub - 06 August 2005