hello moon.
entreped: 27 June 2005, 1:59 pm.
I promoted _Midnight's Children_ to the top of the reading list last week by taking it, once more, off of the shelf. I removed three years worth of (figurative and literal) dust from the spine with one swipe of my index finger, and began over at the beginning. I don't think I ever made it out of Kashmir in my first attempt.

Later in the week flipping to my bookmark - still well within the first half inch of the book - I noticed a cleave in the pages in the last half inch where two pages in a nearly untouched book didn't sit quite next to each other, didn't cling body to body with facing frictions. I flipped to it and found an old parking ticket:

7/3/02
am 7:55 pm
# 249696
Ranger Dunn
License no. VUQ841, MI
Dodge intreped (sic)
Pickel acess site (sic)

I don't know who's car this is/was. I don't know why I ended up with the ticket in my book, not even a book-mark, just stuck in the back as a flower placed for pressing. For preservation.

*****

My fourth of july camping plans for 2005 (apparently this is becoming a tradition. I hope there is a yacht club nearby): Surfing with the linguist, his roommate, and a five-year old (and whoever the five-year old belongs to, I can only assume). I've never been surfing before.

Also, I put $2000 in perspective for myself yesterday with the thought that, in the end, I can always sell myself. Literally.

dairyland:: <::> :archivy ::GB:etc
fortune cooky - 21 September 2005
dinner discourse - 20 August 2005
Me and Teddy G. - 09 August 2005
miao? - 09 August 2005
a march of pub - 06 August 2005