hello moon.
i cut the heads off of bugs: 2001-05-10, 10:10 p.m..
10 May 2001, 10.10p

(there's another update from today too) Well lets see. a job for summer did magically fall into my lap. I was at work and I ran into Dr. D. who's lab I worked in last semester when I was picking bugs for Reuben, and asked if he had any work for me to do. He said yes and that he was glad I asked, and then he dropped by _later that afternoon_! to say that he had the paperwork done and could I start tomorrow?

Dude! free job. although I don't suppose that jobs usually cost too much money, as the point is that you get Paid to do a job. eh.

So yesterday I started, I cut the heads off of bugs and then mount them on slides for someone else to id. i don't actually know much of anything about aquatic insects - how to sample for them and how to tell the difference between them and other organic matter. and now how to cut their heads off and turn them upside down.

I have this tendency to work jobs that have absolutely nothing to do with what I'm interested in/studying. With the exception of last year when I was an english major and I worked for the head of the Comp Lit department. Other than that I've cleaned glassware in a biochemistry lab. I've baked bread and made sandwiches. I've worked helping science type people do field work in the summer. I'm working in computer tech job now and also cutting heads off of bugs.

i think mostly i just like to say that i cut the heads off of bugs. people don't expect it.

what did you do at work today?

I cut the heads off of 87 choronimidae. (sp?)

In other more self indulgent pathetic and whiney news the boy's new computer came two days ago, and i helped him put it together (by fixing the old one so that it boots and actually recognizes that it has a hard drive _and_ a cd-rom. at the same time!). and that was fun and all, and of course he's been wholly absorbed in it. he's been doing all sorts of errands to prepare for it and so he's really been absorbed by it since monday. so i haven't gotten to see much of him and that's dissappointing(sp?). i guess i'll get over it though.

eh. enough about me. how about you? oh that's right. you can't talk back.

dairyland:: <::> :archivy ::GB:etc
fortune cooky - 21 September 2005
dinner discourse - 20 August 2005
Me and Teddy G. - 09 August 2005
miao? - 09 August 2005
a march of pub - 06 August 2005