hello moon.
henna smells good: , .
20 December 2001, 11:30am.

okay, so I couldn't resist.

I like notebooks. I like carrying them and writing things in them. I especially like steno notebooks. They are a good size for carrying with you, you can fit them in coat pockets etc, but they have reasonable area for writing on, and you can actually write out to the very edges of the pages because they don't have margins drawn on, or holes punched in it. And they're bound on the top, so you can write on both sides of the paper. And they come in colors, like pale green, or lavendar or just regular legal yellow.

i bring up the subject of notebooks because I accidentally stole one from the grocery store last night. Because we have a little notebook that we keep on the bulletin board for grocery list stuff, and people can add special requests thorughout the week, and then we add the rest of the list and go to the store. Or is suppose i should say now that Eileen does all this, with John's very important moral support. Um anyway, we had trashed (and used up) the old one, so on the current list, on the back of an old list, we included "a list notebook" and then we got one and it was a nice little white-paged steno pad.

And we were all carrying things in arms, because we do this, instead of baskets or carts if there are smallish amounts of things to be gotten. And then we don't take a bag either, because its a waste, and then its a pain to get everything out of the backseat of the car and into the house once we get home. So we were standing in line holding things (I two bunches of broccoli and the steno pad) and then we put them all down on the U-Scan. And John started to scan things and Eileen did her really irritating snippy pushy thing and was like "Would you just fucking let me do it?" and so I went to go stand elsewhere. And then we left and then I realized that I was still holding the steno pad. It's so normal for me to be carrying a notebook that I hadn't realized it wasn't mine.

I'm pretty happy with this. I like notebooks, and I like the reflection on me that carrying notebooks is an ingrained bit of my character. Also, I imagine the store will survive without their steno pad.

okay. so that's my story.

i have an art history final this afternoon (in a little more than 5 hours) and I have to go finish memorizing the other half of the 100 images, which I have not memorized, as I spent last night falling asleep in my hennaed-up hair, rather than memorizing. And as I have no intention of retaining any of this info for more than 5min past the end of the exam, I certainly wasn't going to start any sooner.

Then I woke up at 2:30a and washed all the henna out and rinsed and rinsed and rinsed and it was lovely and warm, until the water started to get cold because i'd been in the shower so long. And there was mud everywhere and I combed my hair in the shower, which I never do 1) that's really bad for your hair and 2) I have approximately 2feet of hair, so it takes fucking forever anyway. (yeah, I got it cut this summer. They took 8" off and it's still past my waist). So I took a very long shower in the wee hours of the morning with good smelling mud everywhere and it was loverly. And now my hair is very very shiny, and it smells really good. Its also slightly redder (my mother will notice, other than that it will probably go unnoticed. I have pretty dark hair.) but not very much so.

alright. I so cannot wait to go home for christmas. And then move. I think things will improve greatly when I'm living someplace else. I should probably pack the car tonight, and take the bed out for example. I went and got keys for co-op yesterday, and so I'm mostly set to move in on the 3rd or 4th.

Keys! I have keys. I'm really actually doing this. And I went in and there were a couple of the people who live there hanging out and so Matt (prez) introduced me as "Bethany who is moving into Sara's room" and they were enthusiastic. And the guy was like "good. We'll get to know you, real well."

yup. sounds about right. new people. good.

dairyland:: <::> :archivy ::GB:etc
fortune cooky - 21 September 2005
dinner discourse - 20 August 2005
Me and Teddy G. - 09 August 2005
miao? - 09 August 2005
a march of pub - 06 August 2005