hello moon.
the neverending story: 29 April 2004, 2:49 pm.
Well now, I think I have officially "Done It". I think that the chances of my passing Astronomy are extremely slim, not mention the unknown of 348 and the nearly certain incomplete in 499. My actions would seem to belie my stated intent to get the hell out of here.

For laughs and indignation, however, lets take a quick look at a couple of the questions from the Astro Final, why don't we?

10. A geosynchronous communications satellite located directly over Ann Arbor in our zenith would ____.
A. be of obvious commercial importance
B. be great for broadcasting football games
C. not stay put because it would orbit the Earth's center
D. be too far away to be useful
E. be a threat to our peace of mind

74. A rought estimate of the frequency of impacts of 10-kilometer size objects on the Earth is one per 14 million years. The data suggests that the frequency decreases approximately as the square of the size. Accordingly, we might expect a 100-km object to hit every _____ years or so.
A. 14 thousand
B. 14 hundred thousand
C. 14 million
D. 14 hundred million
E. 14 billion

I'll be over there. --->

dairyland:: <::> :archivy ::GB:etc
fortune cooky - 21 September 2005
dinner discourse - 20 August 2005
Me and Teddy G. - 09 August 2005
miao? - 09 August 2005
a march of pub - 06 August 2005